The Centre facilitates collaboration between Aberystwyth University, Hywel Dda University Health Board and Powys Teaching Health Board. Each of these organisations contributes to the steering committee of the health board to ensure that the research conducted by centre staff is informing, innovating and impacting clinical practice.

Centre's Steering Committee

Dr Rachel Rahman

Centre Director
Psychology Department

Prof. Reyer Zwiggelaar

Department of Computer Science

Prof. Michael Woods

Department of Geography and Earth Sciences

Dr Rhys Thatcher

Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences

Dr Sue Fish

Lead GP for Cambrian Primary Care Federation

Dr Kevin Smith

Head of Pharmacy and R&D; Powys Teaching health board

Dr Phil Kloer

Executive Medical Director and Director of Clinical Strategy; Hywel Dda HUB

Anna Prydderch

Project Manager for Rural Health and Care Wales

Other Academic contributors

Dr Zimin He,

Dr Antonia Ivaldi,

Dr OJ Jiaqing,

Dr Joseph Keenan,

Dr Chuan Lu
Computer Science

Dr Federiko Villagra Povina,

Ms Martine Robson,

Dr Liping Wang
Computer Science

Dr Hefin Williams,

Postgraduate Students 

David Dalley;

Angharad Jones;

Liam Knox;

External collaborators

Ms Sali Curtis,
Speech and language therapist;
Abertawe Bro Morgannwg and Hywel Dda UHBs

Dr Elin Jones,
Associate Specialist;
Hywel Dda UHB

Ms Gudrun Jones,
Art therapist;
Hywel Dda UHB

Professor Keir Lewis,
Professor of Respiratory Medicine;
Hywel Dda UHB and Swansea University

Dr Gokulkrishnan Lingesan,
Palliative care consultant;
Hywel Dda UHB

Dr Sam Rice,
Consultant Physician and Endocrinologist;
Hywel Dda UHB

Ms Alison Vaughn,
Research Officer;
Ceredigion County Council

As researchers we also collaborate with a range of external partner organisations who are key stakeholders in the delivery and organisation of rural health and social care.  These currently include;

  • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg UHB
  • North Ceredigion GP Cluster
  • Ceredigion County Council
  • Public Health Wales
  • Welsh Government; Supporting People Programme
  • Wales Rural Observatory